Tags

, , , , , , ,

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Moved to Tears.”

There is one thing, so beautiful, so full of heart felt feelings, so full of a cascade of powerful emotions. Of light and dark, of wonderful music that makes me cry at any given moment.

The music of Joe Hisaishi.

The most recent episode of unexplainable Hisaishi related tears was listening to the soundtrack to My Neighbor Totoro. For anyone who has seen this movie, they may (or may not) be wondering what there is about this movie that would make you cry. Quite simply … I don’t think. I was in my car, listening to the music, enjoying it. Felling the fun, and the magic of being a child, of having adventures. Then it dawned on me what a fragile thing that magic of childhood is, how it can be ripped away, how it fades, how in some of us it never leaves but we have to bury it. Was Totoro even real? Or just in the imaginations in the films two main characters? It all became a little too much for me, and the tears came forth.

I mostly blame the cellos.

