Tags

, , , , , , , ,

image

All the world will be your enemy, Prince with a Thousand Enemies, and whenever they catch you, they will kill you. But first they must catch you, digger, listener, runner, prince with the swift warning. Be cunning and full of tricks and your people shall never be destroyed. – Richard Adams, Watership down

Watership down is my favorite book. I shall ever be irked that it is sold as a children’s book just because its about Rabbits. If the characters were people it would be far from child friendly. I first read it by myself at 10, I barely understood half the vocabulary used. A gentleman at my art club today described it was “a reflection of the human condition but through Rabbits” which I feel is quite accurate in a way. It certainly is about how we still fight our hardships and celebrate their victory though we know it will only be fleeting.

I have had the above quote stuck in my head for a number of days now. I’m not certain that the Rabbits at work appreciated me reciting it to them though.

